Celery, Cucumbers and Kale (oh my!)

So, from the outside, this probably looks inevitable, but I came to the conclusion this last week that I needed to eat more veggies.

Problem? I… don’t really go in for veggies. I mean, I’ll eat them – I like to have a good salad with lettuce and tomato, I eat any veggies that come across my plate and I’m not at all fussy (seriously – the only things I categorically refuse to eat are black beans and liver, because honestly, they make me want to tear out my pharynx, my tongue and anything else they’ve touched).
I just prefer to eat fruit.

And therein lies the problem. While I will happily munch away the day with 15 sweet peaches (don’t laugh. This happened once), I could never really imagine myself being similarly happy, munching the day away with a bag of not-at-all-sweet carrots (that’s the turf of my sister, the Carrot Fiend. I’ll eat them, but I don’t really like raw carrots, aside from as a crunchy vehicle for french onion dip. Heck, they don’t even really do it for me when they’re steamed… unless of course, they’re honeyed. My dad is a genius and I’m pretty sure he started adding honey to our carrots to get us to eat them when we were little. It worked. It worked well).

Enter our blender, given to us by my lovely parents-in-law. It’s a pretty awesome blender, which generally only used to make brief appearances for the ceremonial making of ice creams, smoothies and milkshakes. No longer, my friends. No longer.

On Monday, I was pawing through the fridge for breakfast and realized that we had, in fact, forgotten to get food for me (I’m wheat intolerant and the Funny Man loves his toast and Milo). In despair, I raided the cupboard and fridge and lo, what turns up? Carrots (my old friends), a couple of green apples, a thumb of ginger left over from tea-making and an incredibly optimistic stick of celery. My eyes drifted to the Giver of Ice Cream and Occasional Healthy, Delicious Smoothies… and I decided it was going to get a new name. Desperate times called for desperate measures and my stomach was trying mightily to simultaneously eat itself and claw itself out of my body (please tell me my stomach is not the only one to attempt this feat).

It was fate. In went the carrots (well, 2 of them, anyway), the apples (sans core, obviously), ginger and, after much debate, the celery (I’m not actually sure how this turned up in my fridge, to be honest. I actively avoid celery where possible. I mean, I’ll eat it, but… I can’t be the only one who isn’t thrilled by the prospect of this vegetable). I threw a few ice cubes in there too, thinking that worse come to worst, at least it would be cold.

I did not expect it to taste good. I merely expected it to placate the beast that was my stomach until I could get to the shop. So I was very pleasantly surprised to find that it was actually pretty good.

That’s about when the mad scientist in me decided to rear her head. And so began the Juice Madness of February.

But seriously, I’ve been getting an extra 5 servings of veggies (and fruit… >.>) a day with this and it’s gotten to the point where whole meals will come from my blender now (not my full breakfast and definitely not dinner, because ain’t nobody going to blend up my steak. And I prefer to have a few carbs for breakfast. So sue me). To my intense surprise, I have gone through a whole packet of carrots (!!!!) this week, which never happens and weirdly, I liked it. O.o

The apocalypse may be around the corner, but if so, I’m definitely going to be too tied up with beetroot juice, blueberries and rockmelon to give a damn.

Hope your weeks have been awesome too, guys! Keep rocking that body you’re in – it’s the only one you’ve got!

Meg xoxo


Leave a comment